The Power of Prayer

HowToPraypraying_hands_resting_on_bible

Jesus gave us the model prayer:

“And when you pray, you shall not be like the hypocrites. For they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the corners of the streets, that they may be seen by men. Assuredly, I say to you, they have their reward. But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly.”

“And when you pray, do not use vain repetitions as the heathen do. For they think that they will be heard for their many words. “Therefore do not be like them. For your Father knows the things you have need of before you ask Him. “In this manner, therefore, pray:

Our Father in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name.
Your kingdom come.
Your will be done
On earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our debts,
As we forgive us our debtors,
And do not lead us into temptation,
But deliver us from the evil one.
For Yours is the kingdom and the power
and the glory forever. Amen.”

“For if you forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you.
“But if you do not forgive men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive
your trespasses.

Matthew 6:5-16

Prayer is a gift from God…

When I was five years old one night at bedtime I heard my mother’s soft voice as if she was whispering at someone. I asked her, “Mami, who are you talking to?” In Spanish she replied, “I’m praying to God, it’s called, The Lord’s Prayer.” Wow, how neat that was for me to first hear as a child! I asked her to teach it to me and I repeated one line at a time after her. In time I learned it and through the years I prayed it, and still pray it to this day. I learned to pray it and sing it too. It is a very powerful prayer as it is the model Jesus gave us.

Prayer is talking to God in your own words. It is the practice of the presence of God. It is the place where pride is abandoned, hope is lifted, and supplication is made. Prayer is communicating to the heart of the Father through the Lord Jesus, His Son. Prayer is like spiritual oxygen that all of us can use and need each day and throughout the day. At times when I feel overwhelmed with things to do or with personal issues or those of my loved ones, like a pressure cooker, I release my cares to Jesus in prayer to Him. After praying I feel relieved and at peace within my heart, mind, and soul. Prayer is truly a gift from God.

How do we pray?

Go to a quiet place and there whether kneeling, sitting or standing you can pray to God. Since God is omniscient God hears us wherever we are. Begin your first prayer ideally in the morning. Pray for a few minutes or as long as you need to. Some people like to use the acronym, ACTS: Adoration, Confession, Thanksgiving, Supplication for their prayer time. So, let us pray, pray, pray in the mighty name of Jesus!

“What wings are to a bird, and sails to a ship, so is prayer to the soul.” – Corrie Ten Boom

Bible Verses on Prayer:

“The LORD is near to all who call on Him, to all who call on Him in truth.” – Psalm 145:18

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” – Philippians 4:6

“Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful, and thankful.” – Colossians 4:2

“Pray continually.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:17

“Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has ascended into heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold to the faith we profess.” – Hebrews 4:14

Prayer:

Lord Jesus, Thank You for the power and gift of prayer You have given us. Thank You for Your Holy Spirit that helps us how to pray and makes intercessions through us. Help me pray to You each day and throughout my day. Be glorified. Here is my prayer to You with thanksgiving…

Thank You for hearing and answering my prayers according to Your good and perfect will and for Your faithfulness, O Lord. In Your mighty Name I pray, Amen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

