The Sunday I Gave My Heart and Life to Jesus

11259853_10152738309071986_7525835259554865158_n

Every story is wonderful whether simple or dramatic. The important thing is that we believe, receive, and follow Jesus.

Three decades ago on a Sunday summer afternoon after coming back from church, I gave my heart and life to Jesus. I would like to share my story with you so that you know what God did in my life and what He can do in your life too. Well, here is my story…

While living in Cuba my father and I were very close for the first nine years of my life. Six years after my parents divorce my father remarried. After losing connection with my father after we came from Cuba, I began searching for purpose and some meaning in my life. By the time I was thirteen, I was partaking in my family’s religious rituals in search of hope. Even as a young adult, I had a small altar in my bedroom with two statutes that I prayed to and often offered flowers and candles to.

I had never read the Bible and was curious about what God had to say in it. The summer prior, my family, some friends and I, celebrated the Fourth of July weekend at a Miami Beach motel. I noticed the room that I was going to stay in with my cousins had a Holy Bible on top of the night stand. I had never taken notice of these Bibles before, but I did on that day. I took the Bible, and for a moment I held it tight in my arms. I felt I’d found the greatest treasure on earth. I tucked the Bible into my weekend suitcase. Once home, I opened it up to read it, but I found it difficult to read and didn’t know where to begin, so I closed it up and placed it on my bedroom bookcase for one entire year.

During one of Bill’s (at the time my boyfriend, two years later I married), first visits to my house; he asked if I had a Bible. I gladly showed him my new Bible which I’d not yet read. With a smile on his face he said, “Oh, this is a Gideon’s Bible. Where did you get it from?” Somewhat embarrassed, I confessed that I’d taken it from a motel room a year ago. “You didn’t steal this Bible; it was there for you to take,” he assured me, and I sighed with relief. He then showed me the Ten Commandments. I’d never read them, but the moment I read, “You shall have no other gods before Me. You shall not make for yourself a carved image–you shall not bow to them nor serve them. For I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God” (Exodus 20:4-5), I was convicted. I thought I’d been doing the right “religious” thing by worshiping “religious” images, but suddenly I realized these images were against the Holy Bible.

I learned we are not to bow or pray to anyone but God, our Creator. I learned that the term saints refers to believers in Jesus Christ, not statutes–which are idols in God’s eyes. God needs no helpers. I couldn’t believe I had been so ignorant of the truth for all these years.
After years of being a Christian, I learned idols in our lives are not just statutes we can pray to, but also can be material things as well as people that could keep us away from God. Our eyes need to be fixed on our relationship with Jesus and place Him on the pedestal of our life and no one else.

That Sunday at church as the pastor spoke God’s Word I heard and understood the truth of the freedom of the gospel for the first time. I wanted this for my life, but I was too shy to raise my hand at the gospel invitation. In haste, I left the church desiring to receive Jesus into my heart and life. So I hurriedly drove home and planned to pray to receive Christ in some special way. I wanted to first take a shower, to feel clean, but as the water spilled over my head and down my face; I couldn’t wait any longer. I lifted my hands high and surrendered my life to the Lord Jesus Christ as I desperately cried out, “Jesus, come into my life!” and invited Him to be my Savior. I immediately felt a great sense of peace in my soul for the very first time. As soon as I walked out of the bathroom and into my bedroom, the Spirit of the Lord directed me toward the altar of statutes. I strongly sensed the presence of the living Christ on my right side as I approached the altar. He broke my chains of fear and bondage and gave me the boldness to tear it down. I removed and destroyed them into pieces outside my house. I also removed celebrity posters hanging from my wall and a couple of horoscope and astrology books from my bookcase. Jesus came to my rescue and lifted me out of my dark pit! God showed me that His power is greater because He is a holy and righteous God; — I found the true light that shines in the darkness!

God then blessed me with a new life in Him — a new and refreshing life with purpose and meaning. Because Christ was now living in me, I wanted to get to know Him, please Him, and proclaim Him to the world. He started making everything fresh, new, and beautiful in my life. “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things become new” (2 Corinthians 5:17).

I began reading the Bible everyday. I discovered God’s Word was nourishing to the mind and soul. I found the Scriptures to be a priceless goldmine full of precious jewels of God’s promises to us. I learned God was truly a personal God and His love for me was unconditional even with all of my imperfections. I started praying every day and saw how God began to move and lead my path of life. Jesus blessed me with His love, joy, peace, and hope, that only He can give.

Jesus is the Son of God. He is the King of kings and the Lord of lords. He fulfilled all the prophecies that He is the Savior, the Christ (Messiah) of the world. Jesus lived a holy life, died a horrible death on the Cross to pay for our sins. He died in your place, our place, so that we could have forgiveness of sins. He was buried inside a new tomb, and God victoriously raised Him from the dead on the third day. Jesus gives the gift of eternal life so that we can go to heaven to be with Him someday. Believing and receiving Jesus is our ticket to heaven!

Thank you for reading my story and God bless you.

Vivian

The ABC’s of God’s Grace. To have a personal relationship with God…

Admit you are a sinner in need of a Savior,
Believe in your heart in the Lord Jesus Christ,
Confess your faith in Christ by inviting Him and
receiving Him into your heart and life.

Pray: Lord Jesus, come into my heart and life! I receive You as my Savior today to be Your child forever. Amen.

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son,
that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”
John 3:16

“For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves;
It is the gift of God, not or works, lest anyone should boast.”
Ephesians 2:8-9

“That if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart
that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart one believes
unto righteousness, and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.”
Romans 10:9-10

“These things I have written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, that you may know that you have eternal life, and that you may continue to believe in the name of the Son of God.
1 John 5:13

f21fa2a5ee3a8e8c4f3885117326252a

Leave a Reply

